2021 Supervisorial District Lines Advisory Commission Meeting Thursday, September 23, 2021, 6:30 p.m.

BY VIDEOCONFERENCE ONLY

FINAL MINUTES

Chair Jim Lawrence called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

1. Roll Call

Present:

Commission Members: Nirmala Bandrapalli, Nadia Bledsoe, Rita Chow, Nicole Davis, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Priscilla Romero, Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

Absent:

Commission Members: Benj Azose, Marcus Barber, Nathan Chan, Mark Dinan, Hermez Monzon-Ruiz, and Mark Olbert.

Staff: Justin Mates, Deputy County Manager; David Silberman, Chief Deputy County Counsel; Brian Kulich, Lead Deputy County Counsel; and Sukhmani Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board.

2. Oral Communications and Public Comment

None

3. Action: Set the Agenda

Motion to set the agenda:

RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Nirmala Bandrapalli
SECOND:	Nicole Davis
AYES [9]:	Nirmala Bandrapalli, Nadia Bledsoe, Rita Chow, Nicole Davis, Rudy
	Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Priscilla Romero, Kailen Sallander, and
	Chair Jim Lawrence.
NOES:	None
Absent [6]:	Benj Azose, Marcus Barber, Nathan Chan, Mark Dinan, Hermez
	Monzon-Ruiz, and Mark Olbert.

4. Action: Approval of the Minutes

Motion to approve the	e minutes of September 11, 2021 and September 13, 2021:
RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Nirmala Bandrapalli
SECOND:	Rudy Espinoza
AYES [9]:	Nirmala Bandrapalli, Nadia Bledsoe, Rita Chow, Nicole Davis, Rudy
	Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Priscilla Romero, Kailen Sallander, and
	Chair Jim Lawrence.

NOES:NoneAbsent [6]:Benj Azose, Marcus Barber, Nathan Chan, Mark Dinan, Hermez
Monzon-Ruiz, and Mark Olbert.

5. Pre-Mapping Public Hearing a. Information Presentation: Redistricting Process and Mapping Tools

Speaker(s):

Kristen Parks, National Demographics Corporations (NDC)

Additional speakers for this item: Commissioner Bledsoe

Commissioner Chan arrived to the virtual meeting at 7:10 p.m.

b. Open Public Hearing to Receive Public Testimony Regarding Communities of Interest and Potential District Boundaries

Motion to open public hearing:		
RESULT:	Approved	
MOTION:	Nirmala Bandrapalli	
SECOND:	Rita Chow	
AYES [10]:	Nirmala Bandrapalli, Nadia Bledsoe, Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Nicole	
	Davis, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Priscilla Romero, Kailen	
	Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.	
NOES:	None	
Absent [5]:	Benj Azose, Marcus Barber, Mark Dinan, Hermez Monzon-Ruiz, and	
	Mark Olbert.	
	Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence. None Benj Azose, Marcus Barber, Mark Dinan, Hermez Monzon-Ruiz, and	

Public Speakers: None

c. Close Public Hearing

Motion to close public hearing:		
RESULT:	Approved	
MOTION:	Nirmala Bandrapalli	
SECOND:	Priscilla Romero	
AYES [10]:	Nirmala Bandrapalli, Nadia Bledsoe, Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Nicole	
	Davis, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Priscilla Romero, Kailen	
	Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.	
NOES:	None	
Absent [5]:	Benj Azose, Marcus Barber, Mark Dinan, Hermez Monzon-Ruiz, and	
	Mark Olbert.	

6. Commission Member Reports

Speakers: Emma Gonzalez, Commissioner Bandrapalli, Brian Kulich, Commissioner Romero, Commissioner Chow, Commissioner Espinoza, and Commissioner Guerrero.

7. Discuss Next Hearings Dates

The next meetings are on October 7, 2021 and October 21, 2021.

8. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:05 p.m.